Freedom from religion foundation, Inc | Subscribe
Published by the Freedom From Religion Foundation, Inc.

Meet a staffer: FFRF legal assistant Stephanie Dyer enjoys law, politics

Stephanie Dyer

Name: Stephanie Dyer.

Where and when I was born: Madison, Wis., 1997.

Education: B.A. in political science and legal studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Family: Two amazing parents and one younger sister.

How I came to work at FFRF: I was looking for a job after graduation and saw this great opportunity to work with a nonprofit organization that protects the constitutional principle of state/church separation.

What I do here:  I am a legal assistant. I work in the Legal Department with the Intake team. I assist the attorneys with a variety of tasks, such as organizing files and managing a lot of the attorney’s correspondences with government entities.

What I like best about it: I really enjoy the people I work with. This organization has been so friendly and welcoming. I also really like the issues we deal with; I get to be part of some very important work.

What gets old about it: Doing the mail. Folding letters and stuffing envelopes can be tedious.

Working from home has been: An interesting experience. I like being able to work in my pajamas, but I miss interacting with people.

I spend a lot of time thinking about: Law and politics. I majored in political science in college and plan to attend law school in the future.

I spend little if any time thinking about: Traveling. I love to travel, but since Covid, I don’t spend much time thinking about all the places I would like to visit.

My religious upbringing was: Lutheran. I was heavily involved in our church community, from volunteering at church events to assisting with worship services.

My doubts about religion started: I don’t remember an exact time when my doubts started, but I have always had a lot of questions about religion.

Things I like: My favorite thing to do is spend time outside. I really like to go hiking and kayaking. Traveling is one of my favorite things to do.

Things I smite: People who don’t believe in scientific facts.

In my golden years: I will live in a nice house, relaxing, surrounded by friends and family.