Freedom from religion foundation, Inc | Subscribe
Published by the Freedom From Religion Foundation, Inc.

Asner, Camara, Stone join FFRF Honorary Board

Ed Asner
Jeremiah Camara
Geoffrey R. Stone

The Freedom From Religion Foundation is delighted to announce three additional members to its Honorary Board of distinguished achievers who have made known their state-church support or their dissent from religion.

The newest members are Ed Asner, Jeremiah Camara and Geoffrey R. Stone.

Ed Asner, movie and stage actor, TV (“Lou Grant,” “Mary Tyler Moore Show”) legend, winner of seven acting Emmy Awards, comedian and dramatist, has been a trade union and political activist, and two-term president of the Screen Actors Guild. He has appeared in dozens of movies and television shows, including as the voice of Ralph in the beloved film, “Up,” and as Santa in “Elf.”

Jeremiah Camara is filmmaker of “Holy Hierarchy: The Religious Roots of Racism in America” (2018), “Contradiction: A Question of Faith” (2013),  and other films, and author of the books Holy Lockdown: Does the Church Limit Black Progress? and The New Doubting Thomas: The Bible, Black Folks & Blind Belief. He’s also creator the widely watched YouTube video series “Slave Sermons.”

Geoffrey R. Stone, Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, joined the faculty in 1973 after clerking for Supreme Court Justice William J. Brennan. He later served as dean of the law school  and provost of the University of Chicago. Stone is the author of many books on constitutional law, including Sex and the Constitution: Sex, Religion and Law from America’s Origins to the Twenty-First Century (2017).

The FFRF Honorary Board also includes Sean B. Carroll, Jerry Coyne, Richard Dawkins, Daniel C. Dennett, Ernie Harburg, Jennifer Michael Hecht, Susan Jacoby, Robin Morgan, Rebecca Newberger Goldstein, Mike Newdow, Katha Pollitt, Steven Pinker, Ron Reagan, Robert Sapolsky, Edward Sorel and Julia Sweeney.